LibGuides: TCT620 Advanced Domestic Terrorism Guide: Primary and Secondary Sources for Research

Primary Sources Research

Primary Sources

Look for first-hand accounts from newspapers, magazines, and reports, as well as speeches and unanalyzed data. Avoid analysis or interpretation by someone not present at the incident.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database contains US and non-US news sources; legal materials: cases, statutes, law journals and other secondary law resources; and company and financial information on millions of United States and international companies and executives.

Global Terrorism Database An open-source database managed by START: National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism, A Center of Excellence of the U. S. Department of Homeland Security based at the University of Maryland. Includes information on both domestic and internationall terrorist events from 1970 through 2016 (with annual updates thereafter).

Look for first-hand accounts from newspapers, magazines, and reports, as well as speeches and unanalyzed data. Avoid analysis or interpretation by someone not present at an incident.

Uppsala Conflict Data Program
Data on armed conflict and organized violence from 1975-2017.
CIA Factbook
Congressional Research Service Reports

Look for first-hand accounts from newspapers, magazines, and reports, as well as speeches and unanalyzed data. Avoid analysis or interpretation by someone not present at the incident. Hint: Look for news "archives" where they are available.

News and Media Resources: Africa, Asia, India, and the Americas

Look for first-hand accounts from newspapers, magazines, and reports, as well as speeches and unanalyzed data. Avoid analysis or interpretation by someone not at the incident. Hint: Look for news "archives" where they are available.

news and Media Resources: Australasia, Europe, and the United Kingdom

Look for first-hand accounts from newspapers, magazines, and reports, as well as speeches and unanalyzed data. Avoid analysis or interpretation by someone not at the incident. Hint: Look for news "archives" where they are available.

News and Media Resources: Middle-East and North Africa

Look for first-hand accounts from newspapers, magazines, and reports, as well as speeches and unanalyzed data. Avoid analysis or interpretation by someone not at the incident. Hint: Look for news "archives" where they are available.

News Archives and Global News Aggregators

Secondary Sources Research

Secondary Sources

Recommended Databases

ABC-CLIO eBOOKS This link opens in a new window
The ABC-CLIO eBook Collection provides high-quality, authoritative, scholarly e-books related to security.
Academic Search™ Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database is designed specifically for academic institutions. This collection of 3,865 full-text, scholarly publications provides journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Gale EBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale EBooks is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Access full text articles, news feeds, and reports on topics that include: intelligence, security, and terrorism, including a large image bank with: maps and satellite images on a variety of topics eg. militant organizations.Includes access to Parachini’s, Putting WMD Terrorism into Perspective.
Military and Intelligence Database This link opens in a new window
Access 700 magazines, journals and ebooks (80% full-text), housing over 7 million articles of interest to military researchers.

TCT620 Advanced Domestic Terrorism Guide

Popular resources:

Questions to Ask When Determining Credibility of Sources/Identifying Credible Sources

Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Articles

Limit Your Search to Full-Text and Scholarly/Peer-reviewed Journal Articles

Primary Sources Research

Primary Sources

Look for first-hand accounts from newspapers, magazines, and reports, as well as speeches and unanalyzed data. Avoid analysis or interpretation by someone not present at the incident.

Look for first-hand accounts from newspapers, magazines, and reports, as well as speeches and unanalyzed data. Avoid analysis or interpretation by someone not present at an incident.

Look for first-hand accounts from newspapers, magazines, and reports, as well as speeches and unanalyzed data. Avoid analysis or interpretation by someone not present at the incident. Hint: Look for news "archives" where they are available.

Look for first-hand accounts from newspapers, magazines, and reports, as well as speeches and unanalyzed data. Avoid analysis or interpretation by someone not at the incident. Hint: Look for news "archives" where they are available.

Look for first-hand accounts from newspapers, magazines, and reports, as well as speeches and unanalyzed data. Avoid analysis or interpretation by someone not at the incident. Hint: Look for news "archives" where they are available.

Look for first-hand accounts from newspapers, magazines, and reports, as well as speeches and unanalyzed data. Avoid analysis or interpretation by someone not at the incident. Hint: Look for news "archives" where they are available.

Secondary Sources Research

Secondary Sources