Human intelligence isn't just located in the brain. Our bodies are marvelously sophisticated and complex, with a variety of autonomic systems that help maintain our health without us ever having to think about them. But how exactly do all these physiological structures actually work? In Our Intelligent Bodies, physiology professor Gary F. Merrill takes you on a guided tour through the human body.
OneSearch is an all-encompassing search engine for locating information in news, articles, and ebooks.
Check the box "Full Text" to limit your results to full text articles. Check the box "Peer-reviewed" to limit your results to Peer-reviewed or Scholarly articles. You also may use the limiter tabs at the top of your results page.
If you try to download an article and see "Page unavailable," use a different browser. Microsoft Edge or Firefox are recommended.
The National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.
This database includes articles on computer science, environmental science, business, management, accounting, economics, econometrics, finance, physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, and health sciences.
Instructions: choose a:domain i.e. Social Sciences and Humanities, then a subdomain i.e. Business, Management and Accounting.
PubMed includes more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites
Covers a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology and zoology.
This encyclopedia has over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
Avoid using Editorials or Letters to the Editor from print or online newspapers. These articles are "opinion pieces" and the authors may lack subject expertise.
Use these reliable fact-checking and bias-checking websites for news articles and websites:
MediaBias/Fact Check (analyzes news and other website bias and contains a list of questionable sources).
AllSides (reviews how the same news story is covered across the political spectrum - from the left, the center, and the right).
Credible Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and other social media posts of "first-hand" accounts of current happenings, such as political rallies, strikes, protest, and entertainment events may be used as primary sources. These sources are analyzed by you, the writer (Coleman, 2013, p.60). Social media should not be used as expert analyses or interpretations to support your argument.
Our Intelligent Bodies by 