NAU Reading Room Lists

Bonner, C. (2019). Are U.S. counterterrorism strategies effective? [Doctoral dissertation, National American University]. National American University Digital Archive.

Davis, B. (2019). Violent extremist organizations: Past trends and short-term forecast. Journal Strategic Security, 12(3), 37-156. https://doi.org/10.5038/1944-0472.12.3.1737

Dawud, A. (2019). Ending Shabab violence in Somalia: A grounded theory study [Doctoral dissertation, National American University]. National American University Digital Archive.

Eisenfeld, B. (2019). National security's triple threat: Terrorists', spies', and hackers' converging motivations (Publication no. 27542473) [Doctoral dissertation, National American University]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global. 

Finck, J. (2019). Management of the Transportation Security Administration: The reasons airport security fails[Unpublished doctoral dissertation] National American University.

Fitzsimons, D. (2019). Universal tactics, techniques, and procedures for protection within New England churches[Doctoral dissertation, National American University]. National American University Digital Archive.

Massau, B. (2019). School superintendents' psychological behavior towards pending terrorism attacks on American schools. [Doctoral dissertation, National American University]. National American University Digital Archive.

Piccolo, J. (2019, December 26). Our broken immigration system encourages using recycled migrant children as smuggling pawns. Washington Examiner.

Piccolo, J. (2019). Out of the Shadows: Government whistleblower's protection firsthand account of how the protection of migrant children became a political firestorm. Nexus Resolve, LLC.

Piccolo, J. (2019). Unwavering” A border agent’s journey 2^nd ed. Nexus Resolve, LLC. 

Piccolo, J. (2019, October 21). How to solve the Homeland Security hiring crisis that’s undermining border security. Washington Examiner.

Piccolo, J. (2019, July 16). With no fanfare, ICE works in the shadows to stop sex traffickers. Washington Examiner.

Piccolo, J. (2019 March 12). Trump’s budget isn’t just about the wall, it recognizes the full picture of the immigration crisis. Washington Examiner.

Piccolo, J. (2019, January 29). Ocasio-Cortez wants to abolish ICE, the agency fighting the illegal sex trade at the Super Bowl. Washington Examiner.

Piccolo, J. (2019, January 23). No government shutdown when democrats erected the border wall in San Diego. Washington Examiner.

Piccolo, J. (2019, January 15). If Sen. Diane Feinstein really wants to crack down on immigrants overstaying visas, then double or triple ICE funding. Washington Examiner.

Piccolo, J. (2019, January 12). Build two wall: A physical wall and a policy wall. Washington Examiner.

Piccolo, J. (2019, January 1). Another preventable murder caused by ‘sanctuary city’ laws. Washington Examiner.

Sower, J. (2019). Political leadership necessitates evolving with social culture, while maintaining military adeptness.[Doctoral dissertation, National American University].

Tomlin, J. K. (2019). The victim identity model: The pathology of apiological organized collective violent conflict. (Publication no. 13808723) [Doctoral dissertation, National American University]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global.

Torrence, J. (2019). Deterrence from Cold War to cyberspace. (Publication no.) [Doctoral dissertation, National American University]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global.

Torrence, J. (2019). Lessons for the cyber policymakers. InterAgency Journal, 10(1). 

Umbrasas, K. (2019). Preparing for the last war: Insurgency in the era of great power competition. The Air-Force Journal of Indo-Pacific Affairs, 2(1), 47-66.

Ashley, J. (2018). An examination of the contract security guard industry post 9/11: Are changes needed? [Doctoral dissertation, National American University]. National American University Digital Archive.

Avant, D. (2018). The oral history of Allen Bryant's experience in Yemen 1986-2015 [Doctoral dissertation, National American University]. National American University Digital Archive.

Ayers, J. (2018). Counter-radicalization: An Analysis on Violent Extremist Ideology (Publication no. 13807573) [Doctoral dissertation, National American University]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global.

Botta, M. (2018). Causal factors of participation between gang members and terrorist members and allaying associated myths [Doctoral dissertation, National American University]. National American University Digital Archive.

Gahan, F. (2018). Does benign violation theory explain American tolerance of offensive satirical cartoons? [Doctoral dissertation, National American University]. National American University Digital Archive.

Kiver, P. (2018). Drone warfare: A zero sum gain [Doctoral dissertation, National American University]. National American University Digital Archive.

Knox, D. (2018). The evolution of movements to use of terrorism: Identifying indicators of the potential consideration of extreme violence as a means of influence [Doctoral dissertation, National American University]. National American University Digital Archive.

Nader, W. (2018). Understanding internal culture to better comprehend FARC. (Publication no. 13811977) [Doctoral dissertation, National American University]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global.

Owens, J. (2018). Denial and deception: Advanced methodology. [Doctoral dissertation, National American University]. National American University Digital Archive.

Pease, B. (2018). Foreign Intelligence Services: A focus on key foreign intelligence agencies and their intelligence interests, methods, and capabilities. [Doctoral dissertation, National American University]. National American University Digital Archive.

Pepich, B. (2018). Understanding Al-Qaeda and ISIS utilization of individual jihadists to attack the West and establish a global caliphate. (Publication no.13808037) [Doctoral dissertation, National American University]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global

Piccolo, J. (2018, December 28). Here’s how to abolish ICE and make immigration enforcement more effective. Washington Examiner.

Piccolo, J. (2018, December 14). DHS needs to mount a PR campaign in Central America. Washington Examiner.

Piccolo, J. (2018, November 30). Under fire from liberals and Hollywood, ICE is busy fighting the opioid crisis. Washington Examiner.

Piccolo, J. (2018, November 23). Kamala Harris’ hateful comparison of ICE to the KKK is even more unjust than it seems. Washington Examiner.

Piccolo, J. (2018, November 16). Set up port court to adjudicate these thousands of asylum claims. Washington Examiner.

Piccolo, J. (2018, November 12). Pop-up protesters continue to prevent violent felons from being deported. Washington Examiner.

Royer, L. (2018). Radical Islam in the Balkans: A security concern for the region and beyond. [Doctoral dissertation, National American University].

Stuart, E. (2018). Somali piracy: Applying a revised full-spectrum model to disrupting illicit threat networks. [Doctoral dissertation, National American University].

Tomlin, J. K. (2018). Project management 101, Excelsior College Magazine, 20(1).

Tomlin, J. K. (2018). Intelligence’s correlation to special operation’s mission success from WWII to present, Social Science Research Network

Tomlin, J. K. (2018). The case for an executive project management office for the Intelligence Community, Project Management Institute

Tomlin, J. K. (2018). Avoid chronological snobbery if you want to understand radical Islam’s demise, LinkedIn

Tomlin, J. K. (2018). Responding to regional crisis – Russia and Eastern Europe, McConnell Center, University of Louisville

Torrence, J. (2018). Army professional reading and critical thinking. Small Wars Journal

Torrence, J. (2018). The Army Signal Corp must change its culture. Small Wars Journal

Torrence, J. (2018). Cyber defense and the Strategic Defense Initiative [history essay contest winner]. Society for Military History. https://www.smh-hq.org/awards/appliedmilitaryhistory.html

Torrence, J. (2018). Douhet, Brodie, & cyberspace. Small Wars Journal

Torrence, J. (2018). Strengths of the current National Security Strategy. Small Wars Journal

Trinidad, J. (2018). Plan, prepare, and respond: Exploring active shooter response programs for large US businesses. [Doctoral dissertation, National American University].

Umbrasas, K. (2018). The life course of apocalyptic groups. Journal of Strategic Security, 11(2), 32-53. https://doi.org/10.5038/1944-0472.11.2.1653

Umbrasas, K. (2018). Hostile information operations and mass hysteria.  Small Wars Journal.  http://smallwarsjournal.com/jrnl/art/hostile-information-operations-and-mass-hysteria

Umbrasas, K. (2018). Forging a counter hybrid unit.  InterAgency Journal, 9(4), 96-103.

 

Tomlin, J. K. (2020). The four pieces of information you need for a bulletproof project chapter. In D. Barrett & K. Soniat (eds.), The Keys to Our Success: Tools, techniques, templates, and ideas that some of our best project managers use to be successful. 2^nd ed.  Multimedia Publications ISBN: 9781709936289