LibGuides: Find Books: Find Books

Dictionary.com
Dictionary.com and Thesaurus.com. Includes a Tech and Science Dictionary, meanings of slang, pop culture
Dictionary by Merriam-Webster
Dictionary, Thesaurus, Spanish to English transaction, medical dictionary
Cambridge Dictionary Online
Includes grammar explanations, a thesaurus, and a translator

Accounting Terminology A-Z
From the Business Reference and Services Section (BRASS) Committees of the Reference and User Services Association of the American Library Association
Construction Management Terms and Definitions
From Constructionplace.com and founder W. Gary Westernoff
Common Language Marketing Dictionary
1,800+ cross-referenced marketing terms and definitions from the Marketing Accountability Standards Board.
Free Online Dictionary of Computing
FOLDOC is a computing dictionary. It includes definitions of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions and companies, projects, history, etc.
globalEDGE Glossary of International Business Terms
WEX Legal Dictionary and Encyclopedia
Highly credible, free online legal dictionary and encyclopedia

Department of Defense Dictionary of Military and Associated Terms
Sets forth standard US military and associated terminology to encompass the joint activity of the Armed Forces of the United States. These military and associated terms, together with their definitions, constitute approved Department of Defense (DOD) terminology for general use by all DOD components.
Security Glossary from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security
Excellent resource commonly used by the profession.

Dictionary of Psychology
From the American Psychological Association
Healthcare Glossary
From the Association for Healthcare Administrative Professionals
Health Insurance Glossary
from Health Insurance.org

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database contains the Merriam Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Click on "Medical Dictionary" in the blue header at the top of the page.

Energy Glossary
Definitions of terms related to energy from the U.S. Energy Information Administration

Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
In the left column, choose Law. Click on the picture of The Gale Encyclopedia of Law. Use "Search Within Publication," or the Table of Contents. This ebook covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes previous topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more, plus new topics including cryptocurrency, transgender rights, and the 2020 elections.
WEX Legal Dictionary and Encyclopedia
Highly credible, free online legal dictionary and encyclopedia
Medline Plus Medical Encyclopedia
This encyclopedia has over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
Encyclopedia of Life
from the National Musuem of Natural History - a comprehensive source of biodiversity Information.
Encyclopedia of Small Business
Provides entrepreneurs with how-to information that they can apply to their own business.
Merck Manual for Healthcare Professionals
Includes information on common medical topics, drugs, 3D models, case studies, and procedures.

Excelsior Online Writing Lab (Excelsior OWL)
This handbook is an easy-to-navigate source for college reading, research, writing, and citation help!
*Used pursuant to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Writing resources for everyone from the Writing Lab at Purdue University. Search for your topic in the left-hand column.

Brehe's Grammar Anatomy
Steven Behe's book "provides an in-depth look at beginner grammar terms and concepts, providing clear examples with limited technical jargon." It contains a full glossary and index.

ABC-CLIO eBOOKS This link opens in a new window
The ABC-CLIO eBook Collection provides high-quality, authoritative, scholarly e-books related to security.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Electronic books on a variety of academic topics
Gale EBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale EBooks is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

In the left column of your search results page: