LibGuides: HA4050 Healthcare Law Guide: OneSearch for Healthcare Law Articles

OneSearch for Healthcare Law Articles

magazines Are you required to find "Scholarly Articles," "Peer-Reviewed Articles," or "Academic Articles"? If so, these types of articles are:

Written and reviewed by scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic.
- "Review" means the article is approved by other experts before publication
Usually focused on a narrow subject or a single case study
Intended for an academic audience

OneSearch

OneSearch is an extensive search engine for information in news, articles, and ebooks. Nexis Uni information, however, is not included in OneSearch. Search the Nexis Uni database separately.

Check the box "Full Text" to limit your results to full text articles. Check the box "Peer reviewed" to limit your results to Peer reviewed or Scholarly articles. You also may use the limiter tabs at the top of your results page.
If you try to download an article and see "Page unavailable," use a different browser. Microsoft Edge or Firefox are recommended.

Smart Searching Part 1: Tips and Tricks for Finding What You Need Quickly! This tutorial will show you how to find articles and other resources using the One Search box.

Healthcare and Law-related Databases

These databases contain articles and ebooks for healthcare law-related topics.

Limiting to Peer Reviewed Articles in EBSCO

Academic Search™ Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database is designed specifically for academic institutions. This collection of 3,865 full-text, scholarly publications provides journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text™ contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines
MEDLINE Plus Health Information This link opens in a new window
The National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database contains US and non-US news sources; legal materials: cases, statutes, law journals and other secondary law resources; and company and financial information on millions of United States and international companies and executives.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database contains the Merriam Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Click on "Medical Dictionary" in the blue header at the top of the page.

WEX Legal Dictionary and Encyclopedia
Highly credible, free online legal dictionary and encyclopedia
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
In the left column, choose Law. Click on the picture of The Gale Encyclopedia of Law. Use "Search Within Publication," or the Table of Contents. This ebook covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes previous topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more, plus new topics including cryptocurrency, transgender rights, and the 2020 elections.
United States Courts Glossary of Legal Terms
Dictionary by Merriam-Webster
Dictionary, Thesaurus, Spanish to English transaction, medical dictionary
Cambridge Dictionary Online
Includes grammar explanations, a thesaurus, and a translator
Dictionary.com
Dictionary.com and Thesaurus.com. Includes a Tech and Science Dictionary, meanings of slang, pop culture

Avoid using Editorials or Letters to the Editor from print or online newspapers. These articles are "opinion pieces" and the authors may lack subject expertise.

Use these reliable fact-checking and bias-checking websites for news articles and websites:

FactCheck.org (politics)
Snopes (urban legends, hoaxes, folklore, memes, and rumors)
Climate Feedback (climate change)
AFP (choose news, world regions, topics - health, environment, science, politics)
MediaBias/Fact Check (analyzes news and other website bias and contains a list of questionable sources).
AllSides (reviews how the same news story is covered across the political spectrum - from the left, the center, and the right).

Credible Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and other social media posts of "first-hand" accounts of current happenings, such as political rallies, strikes, protest, and entertainment events may be used as primary sources. These sources are analyzed by you, the writer (Coleman, 2013, p.60). Social media should not be used as expert analyses or interpretations to support your argument.

Sources:

Auraria Library (n.d.). Social media as a primary source. https://guides.auraria.edu/
c.php?g=323480&p=2863867

Coleman, V. (2013, November/December). Social media as a primary source: A coming of age.
Educause Review, 48(6), 60-61. https://er.educause.edu/articles/2013/12/
social-media-as-a-primary-source-a-coming-of-age

HA4050 Healthcare Law Guide

Nexis Uni Database and Guide

OneSearch for Healthcare Law Articles

OneSearch

OneSearch is an extensive search engine for information in news, articles, and ebooks. Nexis Uni information, however, is not included in OneSearch. Search the Nexis Uni database separately.

Smart Searching Part 1: Tips and Tricks for Finding What You Need Quickly! This tutorial will show you how to find articles and other resources using the One Search box.

Healthcare and Law-related Databases

These databases contain articles and ebooks for healthcare law-related topics.

Avoid using Editorials or Letters to the Editor from print or online newspapers. These articles are "opinion pieces" and the authors may lack subject expertise.

Use these reliable fact-checking and bias-checking websites for news articles and websites:

FactCheck.org (politics)

Snopes (urban legends, hoaxes, folklore, memes, and rumors)

Climate Feedback (climate change)

AFP (choose news, world regions, topics - health, environment, science, politics)

MediaBias/Fact Check (analyzes news and other website bias and contains a list of questionable sources).

AllSides (reviews how the same news story is covered across the political spectrum - from the left, the center, and the right).

Sources:

Auraria Library (n.d.). Social media as a primary source. https://guides.auraria.edu/ c.php?g=323480&p=2863867

Coleman, V. (2013, November/December). Social media as a primary source: A coming of age. Educause Review, 48(6), 60-61. https://er.educause.edu/articles/2013/12/ social-media-as-a-primary-source-a-coming-of-age

Auraria Library (n.d.). Social media as a primary source. https://guides.auraria.edu/
c.php?g=323480&p=2863867

Coleman, V. (2013, November/December). Social media as a primary source: A coming of age.
Educause Review, 48(6), 60-61. https://er.educause.edu/articles/2013/12/
social-media-as-a-primary-source-a-coming-of-age