Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Library
NAU Logo

EN2100 Speech Guide

Library resources for EN2100 Speech

Credible Sources

Try searching in the OneSearch search box in the left-hand column for your research. 

Avoid using Editorials or Letters to the Editor from print or online newspapers. These articles are "opinion pieces" and the authors may lack subject expertise.

Not sure if you are reading an Editorial or Letter to the Editor?  If it is an Ebsco database article, click on the title of the article. Scroll down to "Document Type." If it is a ProQuest database article, click on the "Abstract/Details" tab. Scroll down to "Document Type."  Image by Luis Estrada from Pixabay

Use these reliable fact-checking and bias-checking websites for news articles and websites:

  • FactCheck.org (politics)

  • Snopes (urban legends, hoaxes, folklore, memes, and rumors)   

  • Climate Feedback (climate change)

  • MediaBias/Fact Check (analyzes news and other website bias and contains a list of questionable sources.
                                                                                                        

Use the questions on the Questions to Ask When Determining Credibility of Sources handout to help you determine the credibility of websites. Check the information by comparing several websites on the same topic. Take a few facts from one article and confirm or disprove them with another credible source (Stebbins, 2015, pp. 22-23). Use the fact-checking websites on the News tab.

Useful tip: Government and military websites, whose URLs end in .gov, .mil, .state.us, or .state.gov, are credible sources of information. For more tips about using information from websites, watch the short NAU video below.

Stebbins, L.F. (2015). Finding Reliable Information Online. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield.

The list of legitimate science websites on the MediaBias/Fact Check list include How Stuff Works, National Geographic, Science News, and Smithsonian Magazine.

Unlike journal articles, scholarly books:

  • Are written on a broader, general subject
  • May contain a collection of related chapters by different authors
  • Contain less recent information

Remember: you may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!

Find Books:

Find electronic books on a huge variety of topics. Includes thousands of full-text books.

magazinesAlso known as "Scholarly Articles," "Peer-Reviewed Articles," or "Academic Articles," these are:

  • Written and reviewed by scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic.
    • "Review" means the article is approved by other experts before publication
  • Usually focused on a narrow subject or a single case study
  • Intended for an academic audience

 

Find articles in General Databases

Try searching in the OneSearch search box in the left-hand column for your research, or try these databases containing articles on any topic.
A multi-disciplinary, full text database with coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
A multidisciplinary database which covers business, health, literature, the sciences, history, the arts, and more, pulling information from scholarly journals, trade publications, newspapers, company reports, and other credible sources.
Global site tag: