It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to efficiently and effectively navigate the research process
Academic Search Ultimate offers a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals. This scholarly collection provides coverage for nearly all academic areas of study including social sciences & humanities, education, technology, health, business, politics and government, ethnic studies and more.
Use the questions on the Questions to Ask When Determining Credibility of Sources handout to help you determine the credibility of websites. Check the information by comparing several websites on the same topic. Take a few facts from one article and confirm or disprove them with another credible source (Stebbins, 2015, pp. 22-23). Use the fact-checking websites on the News tab.
Useful tip: Government and military websites, whose URLs end in .gov, .mil, .state.us, or .state.gov, are credible sources of information. For more tips about using information from websites, watch the short NAU video below.
Stebbins, L.F. (2015). Finding Reliable Information Online. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield.
Find electronic books on a huge variety of topics. Includes thousands of full-text books.
Avoid using Editorials or Letters to the Editor from print or online newspapers. These articles are "opinion pieces" and the authors may lack subject expertise.
Not sure if you are reading an Editorial or Letter to the Editor? If it is an Ebsco database article, click on the title of the article. Scroll down to "Document Type." If it is a ProQuest database article, click on the "Abstract/Details" tab. Scroll down to "Document Type."
Use these reliable fact-checking and bias-checking websites for news articles and websites:
MediaBias/Fact Check (analyzes news and other website bias and contains a list of questionable sources.
Credible Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and other social media posts of "first-hand" accounts of current happenings, such as political rallies, strikes, protest, and entertainment events may be used as primary sources. These sources are analyzed by you, the writer (Coleman, 2013, p.60). Social media should not be used as expert analyses or interpretations to support your argument. Watch the short video to learn about using social media properly in assignments and papers.