Search the NAU Online Library for credible information for your Environmental Science course discussions and assignments:
In this Science Guide, go to the page on the left "OneSearch for Science Information." In the OneSearch box, type a few key words or phrases from your topic. Click on the blue Search button. On the results page, you may limit your results by checking the box labeled "Scholarly (Peer-reviewed) Journals," or by moving the date slider to the right, or by source type.
In this section of the Guide, click on any of the tabs above to locate credible information.
Below are selected resources for Discussions and Assignments.
Week 1: Environmental Science Today
Wolves in Yellowstone:
Discussion 1.2 Definition of Sustainability
Week 2: Environmental Ethics: The Politics of Consumption
Assignment 2: Some suggested searches in OneSearch - use quotation marks around these phrases to retrieve articles on these subjects. Limit your search to recent articles by moving the date slider to the right:
"food production" and "environmental impact" || cosmetics and "environmental impact" || "shopping and the environment" || consumption and environment || advertising and "environmental impact" || "green marketing"
Week 3: Environmental Risks, Energy, & Matter
Discussion 3.2: Evaluating Scientific Resources
Week 4: Ecosystems
Assignment 4 - Invasive Species: Some sugggested searches in OneSearch - use quotation marks around these phrases to retrieve articles on these subjects. Limit your search to recent articles by moving the date slider to the right: "introduced animals" || "introduced organisms" || "invasive plants" || or search for a specific animal or plant.
Week 5: Energy
Energy GlossaryDefinitions of terms related to energy from the U.S. Energy Information Administration
Week 6: Biodiversity
Discussion 6.2: Urban Sprawl & Land Use
How to find "eminent domain" legal cases in your state- Use Google Scholar. 1) Under the search box, click on "Case Law." 2) Click on "Select courts." 3) Check the boxes by all courts in your state. 4) Click on the blue box labeled "Done." 5) Enter this query in the search box: "eminent domain" (use the quotation marks).
Week 7: Soil
Assignment 7:
Week 9: Climate Change
Assignment 9: The Causes of Climate Change: Suggested searches in OneSearch: use quotation marks around these phrases to retrieve articles on these subjects. Limit your search to recent articles by moving the date slider to the right.
"climate change" and causes || "climate change detection" || "climate change skepticism" || "climate change mitigation" || "global warming" || "climate change prevention"
Other Resources:
Ask NASA ClimatePopular Ask NASA Climate Topics: Climate Change, Global Warming, Ocean, Data, Sea Level, Greenland, Arctic, Antarctica, Sea Ice, Extreme Events
United States Environmental Protection Agency: Climate ChangeClimate Change Facts, Addressing Climate Change, and Climate Connections
Week 10: Solid Waste & Hazardous Waste
Discussion 10.1:
Week 11: Environmental Politics
Assignment 11: California's Wildfires. Suggested searches in OneSearch: use quotation marks to retrieve articles with these subjects. Limit your search to recent articles by moving the date slider to the right: wildfires || "wildfires & the environment" || "Wildfires - climatic factors" || "forest fires" || 'wildfire prevention" || "wildfires in California" || wildfires or "forestfires" || "California state history" and wildfires || cause and wildfires || Wildfires - Law & Legislation || CAMP Fire, 2018
Dictionary by Merriam-WebsterDictionary, Thesaurus, Spanish to English transaction, medical dictionary
Dictionary.comDictionary.com and Thesaurus.com. Includes a Tech and Science Dictionary, meanings of slang, pop culture
Energy GlossaryDefinitions of terms related to energy from the U.S. Energy Information Administration
U-X-L Endangered Species by Gale (Editor)Call Number: Click on the link to "Environment."
ISBN: 9781410332974
Publication Date: 2016-02-22
This thorough revision of the 2nd edition (2004) spans three full-color volumes and covers endangered and threatened mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, mollusks, insects, arachnids, corals, crustaceans, and plants. This 3rd edition, featuring 38 new species, reflects changes in the endangered and threatened status of the 242 species profiled.
Wounded Planet: How Declining Biodiversity Endangers Health and How Bioethics Can Help by Henk A. M. J. ten HaveISBN: 9781421427461.
Publication Date: 2019-05-14
Exploring the interconnectedness of human health, biodiversity, and bioethics. We all depend on environmental biodiversity for clean air, safe water, adequate nutrition, effective drugs, and protection from infectious diseases. Today's healthcare experts and policymakers are keenly aware that biodiversity is one of the crucial determinants of health--not only for individuals but also for the human population of the planet.
Use the questions on the Questions to Ask When Determining Credibility of Sources handout to help you determine the credibility of websites and videos. Check the information by comparing several sites or videos on the same topic. Take a few facts from one article and confirm or disprove them with another credible source (Stebbins, 2015, pp. 22-23). Use the fact-checking websites in this Guide on the OneSearch for Science Information page under News.
Useful tip: Government and military websites, whose URLs end in .gov, .mil, .state.us, or .state.gov, can be credible sources of information. For more tips about using information from websites, watch the short NAU video in the left column.
Stebbins, L.F. (2015). Finding Reliable Information Online. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)Environmental topics include air, climate change, greener living, health, science, and water. Also Laws and Regulations by business section and topics.
NOAA Climate.govNOAA Climate.gov's mission is to "provide science and information for a climate-smart nation."
U-X-L Endangered Species by 
Population, Agriculture, and Biodiversity by