LibGuides: Science Guide: Nutrition

Nutrition

Search the NAU Online Library for credible information for your Nutrition course assignments:

In this Science Guide, go to the page on the left "OneSearch for Information." In the OneSearch box, type a few key words from your topic. Click on the blue Search button. On the results page, you may limit your results by checking the box labeled "Scholarly (Peer-reviewed) Journals," by moving the date slider to the right, or by source type.
In this section of the Guide, click on any of the tabs above to locate credible information.

Topic suggestions:

nutrition, food, diet, malnutrition, nutrition policy, cholesterol, diet, digestion, food safety, hunger, metabolism, nutrients, obesity, dietary supplements, carbohydrates, diabetes, rickets, scurvy, anemia, eating disorders, childhood obesity, heart disease, cancer, atherosclerosis

More Topic suggestions:

Health Topics from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLB)
The NHLB, an agency of the National Institutes of Health, provides training and education to promote the prevention and treatment of health, lung, and blood diseases.

Dictionary by Merriam-Webster
Dictionary, Thesaurus, Spanish to English transaction, medical dictionary
Dictionary.com
Dictionary.com and Thesaurus.com. Includes a Tech and Science Dictionary, meanings of slang, pop culture
Mayo Clinic
General health information, including diseases and conditions, symptoms, tests and procedures, and drugs and supplements.

MEDLINE Plus Health Information This link opens in a new window
The National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.

World Health Organization (WHO)
Fact sheets and pictures, questions & answers, tools & toolkits, and data on many health topics

Dietary Guidelines for Americans
This site was created by the Federal Departments of Agriculture and Health and Human Services for policymakers, healthcare providers, nutrition educators and Federal nutrition program operators. It contains information on diet and health that can be easily adapted for use when providing information to a wide range of consumers.
Food Data Central
This U.S. Department of Agriculture Site is an integrated data system providing data on nutrients and other food components.
MedlinePlus - Nutrition
Nutrition information from the National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families and friends.
My Plate
This U.S.Department of Agriculture website provides dietary guidelines for all Americans and conducts applied research and analyses in nutrition and consumer economics.
Nutrition.gov
This U.S. Department of Agriculture website provides consumer information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity and food safety. (And recipes!)
Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Topics include Diseases and Conditions, Healthy Living, Travelers' Health, Emergency Prepardedness, Workplace Safety & Health, and much more!

U.S. Department of Agriculture/Food Safety and Inspection
Pursuant to federal law, the FSIS ensures food safety and food defense by collecting scientific information and releasing data and reports. This site includes recalls and public health alerts, safe food handling and preparation information, and more.
Center for Disease Control - Food Safety
Topics include how to prevent food poisoning, food poisoning symptoms, foods that can cause food poisoning, and foodborne outbreaks.
Iowa State University - Food Safety
Food safety information for consumers, foodservice workers, and producers.

Center for Disease Control - Weight Gain During Pregnancy
Topics include: How Much Weight Should You Gain During Pregnancy? What Steps Can You Take to Meet Pregnancy Weight Gain Recommendations?
MedlinePlus - Nutrition
Nutrition information from the National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families and friends.
Merck Manual - Consumer Version
This resource is a highly respected reference tool for health science students and consumers. This link is to the topic of Disorders of Nutrition.
My Plate
This U.S.Department of Agriculture website provides dietary guidelines for all Americans and conducts applied research and analyses in nutrition and consumer economics.
Nutrition.gov
This U.S. Department of Agriculture website provides consumer information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity and food safety. (And recipes!)

eat right.org (Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics)
Food, Health, and Fitness - Consumer site. Topics include family activities, fertility and reproduction, what to eat when expecting, and travel.
American Society for Nutrition
Professional researchers and practioners in the field of nutrition. Publisher of The American Journal of clinical Nutrition.
e-Library of Evidence for Nutrition (eLENA)
This World Health Organization website is an online library of evidence-informed guidance for nutrition interventions.
Nutrition Action
This website is produced by the Center for Science in the Public Interest, a nonprofit organization. The site contains tips for eating right, cooking healthful recipes, avoiding food-safety risks, and other nutrition and health news
United Nations System Standing Committee on Nutrition (UNSCN) - Resource Center
This database contains food security and nutrition-related documents and materials.
World Health Organization (WHO)
Fact sheets and pictures, questions & answers, tools & toolkits, and data on many health topics