LibGuides: Business and Management Guide: Business Plans and Websites

Questions to Ask When Determining the Crediblity of Sources/Identifying Credible Sources
Handout with questions and a chart to help you determine the credibility of your sources.

Business Planning and Financial Statements Template Gallery
From SCORE,a nonprofit organization, "dedicated to helping small businesses get off the ground..." SCORE is funded, in part, by the U.S. Small Business Administration.
Write Your Business Plan
From the U.S. Small Business Administration. Includes two example fictional business plans, one written for a consulting firm and one written for a toy company.
How to Write a Business Plan
21 short videos from the U.S. Small Business Administration.
Business Plans Handbook Online
Examples of business plans
Parts of a Business Plan
From the National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB), this article sets out the 7 essential parts of a business plan.

Business Plans Handbook by Gale Cengage Learning (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017-06-13
The Business Plans Handbook is a collection of actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses throughout North America. For those looking for examples of how to approach, structure and compose their own business plans, the Handbook presents 20 sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries. The company names and addresses have been changed. This edition also contains a business plan template and two fictional business plans.

Research Papers in Economics (REPEC)
This database contains working papers, journal articles, books, book chapters, and software components in economics and related sciences.
State of Working America
UNData
This database provides international statistics on all major social and economic subjects.
Urban Institute-Unemployment & Recovery Project
Information on unemployment issues and challenges facing the United States; topics include: job creation analysis, unemployment impact on the unemployed, workforce development and programs, and much more
World Bank
WDI Online (World Development Indicators)
WDI (World Development Indicators) Online is linked from this page and contains statistics for over 550 indicators from 1960 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Subjects include social welfare, economies, natural resources, and the environment. Data may not be available for all years for all countries.
Economic Policy Institute
Areas of Research: employment, immigration, economic growth and much more.

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
An accurate and nonpartisan source of data about the United States' economy. Information includes the gross domestic product, consumer spending numbers, personal income and spending, corporate profit, and much more.
Consumer Expenditure Surveys
Federal Trade Commission
Government Auditing Standards (yellow book)
Housing and Urban Development (HUD): State of the Cities
Census data, employment rates, FBI crime data.
How-to Materials for Using Census Bureau data
Step-by-step guidance to learn how to use the United States Census Bureau site (data.census.gov)
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Statistical Abstract:
U.S. Data and Statistics
Find data about the United States, including census data, data and statistics from other federal government agencies, and maps.
U.S. Government Printing Office
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission - EDGAR (Search and Access page)
EDGAR is the SEC's Electronic Data Gathering and Retrieval System that allows users to easily find company filings.
United States Census Bureau
This platform provides access to demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Annual Reports
Annual reports for 9,179 international companies.
Investopedia
NASDAQ
NetMBA
New York Stock Exchange
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission - EDGAR (Search and Access page)
EDGAR is the SEC's Electronic Data Gathering and Retrieval System that allows users to easily find company filings.
Quick EDGAR Tutorial
Use this tutorial to learn the ways to search EDGAR for real-time filings and other company information.

Eurostat
Export.Gov Market Research
Global Edge
ILOSTAT (International Labour Organization)
An International Labour Office database on labour statistics operated by the ILO Department of Statistics. Information for over 200 countries on employment, unemployment, hours of work, wages, consumer price indices and more. There is information on certain variables from 1969- 2008 and employment projections through 2020.
The Economist Country Research

SCORE
United States Small Business Administration (SBA) Government advocacy group for small businesses, also provide loans & support for small businesses, and more
U.S. International Trade Administration
Support services for American businesses

2022: Purposeful Sustainability Leadership for Turbulent Times
Resources from "Business for Social Responsibility" (BSR), an organization of sustainable business experts who work with the world's leading companies to build a "just and sustainable world."