LibGuides: Henley-Putnam's Doctor of Strategic Security Subject Guide: News and Media Resources-Africa, Asia, India, and the Americas

News and Media Resources - Africa, Asia, India, and the Americas

What follows is a broad cross-section of online news content from Africa, Asia, India, and the Americas; some sites reflect a strong and obvious bias and other agencies are less overt. Most are English translations from other languages or born English media sources.

African News in English thebigproject.co is a publisher of online resource directories covering a wide range of popular, technical, and special interests topics. The directories are worldwide, but also limited to regions, countries, etc. This particular directory is focused on African news in English.
Independent Online (South Africa) Independent Online (IOL) is the digital division of Independent Media – one of South Africa’s leading multi-platform content companies. IOL presents breaking news inside the country and around the world aggregated primarily from the newspapers run by the Independent group in South Africa as well as from news wires like the African News Agency. A small portion of content is generated by IOL staff.

Asian News In English thebigproject.co is a publisher of online resource directories covering a wide range of popular, technical, and special interests topics. The directories are worldwide, but also limited to regions, countries, etc. This particular directory is focused on Asian news in English.
Bangkok Post Daily English-language newspaper. Multimedia interests include broadcasting and communications via various subscriber-based digital media platforms and digital mobile device applications with a goal of making bangkokpost.com and posttoday.com the world’s window into Thailand.
Manila Bulletin Second oldest newspaper published in the Philippines and the second oldest English newspaper in the Far East. MB is a multi-faceted publishing company with interests in newspapers, journals, magazines, periodicals, books, pamphlets, literary and art works and other mass communications.
Phnom Penh Post Oldest existing independent newspaper in any language in Cambodia. The Phnom Penh Post presents its readers with information and analysis on Cambodian current events that is convincing, useful and unique.
Shanghai Daily The first local English-language daily newspaper on the Chinese mainland and is the primary source of information for English readers in Shanghai and the Yangtze River Delta Region. SHINE is a new digital media product Powered by Shanghai Daily providing readers with breaking news, in-depth opinions and insightful analysis about Shanghai and China.

Indian News in English thebigproject.co is a publisher of online resource directories covering a wide range of popular, technical, and special interests topics. The directories are worldwide, but also limited to regions, countries, etc. This particular directory is focused on Indian news in English.
Telegraph (India) Largest circulated English daily in Eastern India. The Telegraph reports on local Calcutta news and the social and cultural events in the city. The Telegraph offers extensive national, international, and business news and a wide variety of special interests.
Times of India World’s largest broadsheet English daily covering news, entertainment, sports, local, ecommerce, classifieds, startup investments, local partnerships, and more.

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library Supported by the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Cuba News Cuban News Agency (ACN) is the web division of a state-run Cuban news agnecy. The AIN / ACN spreads over 50,000 news products annually in different media: texts in Spanish, English, French and Russian; photography, audio and video.
Havana Times “Self-funded” independent newspaper in Havanna, Cuba. Its goal is to present Cuban reality in all its diversity, both using the written word and photography, to give a voice to a large and diverse group of Cubans, and create a space where readers from a wide spectrum – from government supporters to detractors – can feel comfortable debating issues and ideas.
Latin American Newspapers in English thebigproject.co is a publisher of online resource directories covering a wide range of popular, technical, and special interests topics. The directories are worldwide, but also limited to regions, countries, etc. This particular directory is focused on Latin American newspapers.

AP Video Archive Film and video archive of The Associated Press (AP). The collection includes over 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories dating back to 1895, sourced both from AP’s own coverage and from our premium content partners. Hours of new video footage is added daily with coverage from AP’s global news gathering network.
Canadian News: National thebigproject.co is a publisher of online resource directories covering a wide range of popular, technical, and special interests topics. The directories are worldwide, but also limited to regions, countries, etc. This particular directory is focused on Canadian news. partnerships, and more.
CBC News CBC/Radio-Canada’s service media include radio, television and digital platforms including mobiles. Their goal is to be informing, enlightening and entertaining with the news, content and commentary and culture that Canadians need.
CNN CNN.com is an online news and information delivery service. Though headquartered in Atlanta, GA, CNN has news bureaus worldwide. CNN.com features the latest multimedia technologies, from live video streaming to audio packages to searchable archives of news features and background information.
Fox News The Fox News Channel is an extensive cable and satellite television franchise owned by 21st Century Fox. Fox News is available in over 90 countries worldwide.
MSNBC American news cable and satellite television network that provides news coverage and political commentary from NBC News on current events. MSNBC is one division of a news and media conglomerate owned by Comcast.
Newsweek Newsweek provides news, in-depth analysis and ideas about international issues, technology, business, culture and politics. In addition to its online and mobile presence, Newsweek publishes weekly English print editions in the United States, Europe/Middle East/Africa and Asia as well as editions in Japanese, Korean, Polish, Serbian and Spanish.
NYTimes Topic Pages The New York Times has the largest combined print-and-digital circulation of any daily newspaper in the United States though its readership is global. The New York Times covers news, editorials/Op-Ed, New York (metropolitan), business, sports, the arts, science, life styles, home, travel, and other features.
The Economist The Economist is a London-based weekly newspaper (sic) with a global circulation and readership of 1.5 million. Their coverage reflects this worldwide audience through in-depth articles that are both geographical (Britain, Europe, the United States, the Americas, China, Asia, Middle East and Africa, International) and thematic (Business, Finance and economics, Science and technology, Books and arts).
Washington Post The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper. Published in Washington, D.C. the newspaper has a particular emphasis on national politics reporting on the workings of the White House, Congress, and other aspects of the U.S. government.
Time Time is an American weekly news magazine published in New York City. Time has the world’s largest circulation for a weekly news magazine, and has a readership of 26 million, 20 million of which are based in the United States. The Time franchise is global and features reporting and commentary on health and science, politics, business, society and entertainment.
USA Today USA TODAY is a multi-platform news and information media company providing visitors with breaking news, sports, money, life, weather, technology and travel news through interactive features, infographics, and multi-media functions including audio, video, blogs, podcasts and live Webcasts.
US News by Region thebigproject.co is a publisher of online resource directories covering a wide range of popular, technical, and special interests topics. The directories are worldwide, but also limited to regions, countries, etc. This particular directory is focused on U.S. news by Region.
US News & World Report U.S. News & World Report is a multi-platform publisher of news and information, which includes www.usnews.com published from Washington, DC. USNews focuses on health, personal finance, education, travel, cars, news and opinion.