LibGuides: Henley-Putnam's Strategic Security and Protection Management Guide: Risk, Planning, Response, and Logistics Resources I

Risk, Planning, Security, and Response Resources (A-L)

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) The ATF protects communities from violent criminals, criminal organizations, the illegal use and trafficking of firearms, the illegal use and storage of explosives, acts of arson and bombings, acts of terrorism, and the illegal diversion of alcohol and tobacco products. The Bureau partners with communities, industries, law enforcement, and public safety agencies to safeguard the public through information sharing, training, research, and use of technology. Access full-text documents in the Resources section.
Center for Disease Control & Prevention Travelers’ Health Info Offers information to assist travelers and their health-care providers in identifying the vaccines, medications, and other measures necessary to prevent illness and injury during international travel. Provides access to an extensive array of full-text articles and reports.
Center for Homeland Defense and Security Provides access to the Homeland Security Digital Library, housing a collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management and open access to over 43,000 Federal Government documents and academic theses. Students can apply for access to the full library. Contact mstacey@national.edu for more info.
Center for Technology in Government CTG is an applied research center (public-private partnership) devoted to improving government and public services through policy, management, and technology innovation. Access 174 full-text downloadable reports and publications on a range of technology topics.
CIA The CIA Library contains a wealth of information, from unclassified current publications to basic references, reports and maps. In addition to The World Factbook the CIA library features World Leaders, an online directory of Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments. Through the Center for the Study of Intelligence the CIA library provides a great deal of full-text data from Studies in Intelligence, a peer-reviewed intelligence journal. Most of the data under the CIA Maps & Publications tab is NOT free, which includes some data from Studies in Intelligence and other CIA books and reports. However, the CIA Library also provides access to more free full-text data through the Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room, the Kent Center Occasional Papers, and through various Reports.
Computer Hope Provides database of extensive free computer related information. Learn how to determine who owns a web page, find out how it is routed, or monitor web usage.
CSO Security Excellent source of free information on Data Management and Security. For some downloads, a user must register with the site to access free information.
FBI Portal to FBI information, including investigation, counterterrorism, and country information. Various reports and publications available under the “Resources” section of the site.
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Find information on the National Response Framework and other FEMA activities.
Google Earth View satellite imagery, maps, terrain, and 3D buildings from all over the world (and space).
Institute for Intergovernmental Research Nonprofit research and training organization that provides local, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies with assistance needed to implement changes that promote greater governmental effectiveness. It is an essential resource for data on gangs, resource sharing and justice training.
Justice Technology Information Network Portal for professionals to gather information on innovations in the sustainable technology that is transforming the criminal justice system. It is the “go-to source” for those who make decisions regarding the evaluation, selection and purchase of proven and tested methods, equipment and technology. A program of the National Institute of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, US Department of Justice.
Library of Congress Country Studies The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. Currently includes 101 countries. Country profiles also available: https://www.loc.gov/collections/country-studies/about-this-collection/