National Archive of Criminal Justice DataArchives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. Contains data from over 2,600 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI’s Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI’s National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).
National Criminal Intelligence Resource CenterProvides criminal justice professionals with a multitude of resources that are primarily concerned with law enforcement intelligence operations and practices. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA).
National Criminal Justice Reference ServiceAdministered by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, NCJRS services and resources are available to anyone interested in crime, victim assistance, and public safety including policymakers, practitioners, researchers, educators, community leaders, and the general public.
National Neighborhood Indicators PartnershipCollaborative effort by the Urban Institute and local partners to further the development and use of neighborhood-level information systems in local policymaking and community building. The NNIP includes a broad range of full-text, accessible documents.
World Health Organization: Global Health ObservatoryProvides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programs and provides links to supporting information. Contains a range of useful documents to support advance work and strategic planning, including: Weekly Epidemiological Record, which provides information on cases and outbreaks of communicable diseases; and International Health Regulations (IHR), which provides the latest edition of the public health regulations that are legally binding on WHO Member States.
United NationsThe United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945. It is currently made up of 193 Member States. The mission and work of the United Nations are guided by the purposes and principles contained in its founding Charter.
UNDataA global database of FREE social, economic, cultural, and security-related data aimed at allowing the global user community to access statistical resources of the UN System. Provides access to over 60 million data points.
UN Multilingual Terminology DatabaseMaintained by the Terminology Team of the Terminology and Reference Section, Documentation Division, DGACM, New York. For example, look up the term ‘quiet diplomacy’ and access a table with translations into French, Spanish, Chinese, Russian and Arabic. Open the folder icon and access a definition and history of the use of this term.
UN Security Council Counterterrorism CommitteeAccess Founding Documents, Working Papers, and Policy Papers of this UN Committee, guided by Security Council resolutions 1373 (2001) and 1624 (2005). The CTC works to bolster the ability of United Nations Member States to prevent terrorist acts both within their borders and across regions.
Yearbook of the UNPrinciple reference work of the United Nations and provides a detailed overview of the Organization’s activities. Each Yearbook is fully indexed and includes all major General Assembly, Security Council, and Economic and Social Council resolutions. The complete collection is available here.
US Bureau of Transportation StatisticsAdministers data collection, analysis, and reporting to ensure the most cost-effective use of transportation-monitoring resources. The BTS mission is to create, manage, and share transportation statistical knowledge with public and private transportation communities and the Nation.
US Census BureauProvides current and historic facts and figures about America’s people, places, and economy. Population data can be found via American FactFinder.
US Government Accountability OfficeKnown as “the investigative arm of Congress” and “the congressional watchdog,” GAO supports the Congress in meeting its constitutional responsibilities and helps improve the performance and accountability of the federal government for the benefit of the American people.
U. S. Securities and Exchange CommissionThe mission of the Commission is to protect investors, maintain fair, orderly, and efficient markets, and facilitate capital formation. Explore different occupations by searching here on the Standard Industrial Classification codes (SICs). For example: search on 7380 (Business Services); 7381 (Detectives and Guards); 7389 (Business Services). This is one way of finding out how to develop a protection plan, which is by seeing who is in the business and what they say they are doing in their business practice.
World Economic Outlook DatabaseThe WEO database contains selected macroeconomic data series from the statistical appendix of the World Economic Outlook report, which presents the International Monetary Fund staff’s analyses and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups and in many individual countries. The database is released in April and September each year. Use this database to find data on national accounts, inflation, unemployment rates, balance of payments, fiscal indicators, trade for countries and country groups (aggregates), and commodity prices whose data are reported by the International Monetary Fund (IMF). Data are available from 1980 to the present, and projections are given for the next two years. Additionally, medium-term projections are available for selected indicators. For some countries, data are incomplete or unavailable for certain years.