LibGuides: Henley-Putnam's Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies Guide: Anti-Terrorism and Counterterrorism Resources

Terrorism and Counterterrorism Resources

9-11 Commission Report Full-text access to the Commission’s Final Report provides a full and complete account of the circumstances surrounding the September 11th, 2001, terrorist attacks, including preparedness for and the immediate response to the attacks. It also includes recommendations designed to guard against future attacks.
ASIS Foundation A nonprofit organization advancing the security profession worldwide by funding research, education, and training. Access the Connecting Research in Security to Practice (CRISP) reports that have experts present their views on a specific security concern. The reports provide concise summaries of available research, deliver expert analysis, and offer proven approaches and best practices. To access a free copy of the CRISP reports you must fill out online a Foundation Document Download Form.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Provides access to an extensive array of full-text articles and reports through the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/pubs/all_date_desc_nopubnumbers.html), including Guidance on Emergency Responder Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) for Response to CBRN Terrorism Incidents (http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/docs/2008-132/). Also available is content on Violence Prevention (http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html) through the National Center for Injury Prevention and Control (http://www.cdc.gov/ncipc)
Center for Strategic and International Studies Provides strategic insights and policy solutions to decision-makers in government, international institutions, the private sector, and civil society.
FBI Portal to FBI information, including investigation, counterterrorism, and country information. Various reports and publications available under the “Resources” section of the site.
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Find information on the National Response Framework (https://www.fema.gov/media-library/assets/documents/117791) and other FEMA activities.
Institute for Intergovernmental Research Nonprofit research and training organization that provides local, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies with assistance needed to implement changes that promote greater governmental effectiveness. It is an essential resource for data on gangs, resource sharing and justice training.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data Archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. Contains data from over 2,600 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI’s Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI’s National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Administered by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, NCJRS services and resources are available to anyone interested in crime, victim assistance, and public safety including policymakers, practitioners, researchers, educators, community leaders, and the general public.
NGO Guide from Duke Enables users to browse non-governmental organizations alphabetically, by issue, region, and affiliation. Also highlights organizations providing access to statistical data.
Secret Service History The mission of the United States Secret Service is to safeguard the nation’s financial infrastructure and payment systems to preserve the integrity of the economy, and to protect national leaders, visiting heads of state and government, designated sites and National Special Security Events. This is a good source of information on basic service mandates and dual mission and definitions of Investigative and Protective Missions within the Secret Service.
Department of State: Diplomacy in Action Contains information on issues relating to the protocol of visiting dignitaries, the history of protocol, photos of diplomatic meetings and events and includes an archive of the past decade. Also access information regarding road safety, emergencies, and other potential dangers and services for Americans traveling abroad, including emergency contacts and numbers for consulates, notices by country, travel alerts and cautions as well as worldwide cautions.
Bureau of Diplomatic Security The security and law enforcement arm of the U.S. Department of State. DS is a world leader in international investigations, threat analysis, cyber security, counterterrorism, security technology, and protection of people, property, and information.
Office of the Chief of Protocol Reporting directly to the Secretary of State, the Office of Protocol plays an essential role in strengthening bilateral relationships around the globe and advancing the foreign policy goals of the Administration by fostering an environment for successful diplomacy. It is the bureau’s responsibility to extend appropriate hospitality to foreign missions and their visiting leaders, facilitate cultural exchanges with the diplomatic community and ensure their time spent in the United States is positive and productive.
Office of the Historian Responsible for the preparation and publication of the official historical documentary record of U.S. foreign policy in the Foreign Relations of the United States series. Access documents concerning departmental history, the history of US diplomacy, key milestones in US diplomacy and a guide to US diplomatic relations with other countries. The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
US Government Accountability Office Known as “the investigative arm of Congress” and “the congressional watchdog,” GAO supports the Congress in meeting its constitutional responsibilities and helps improve the performance and accountability of the federal government for the benefit of the American people.
U. S. Securities and Exchange Commission The mission of the Commission is to protect investors, maintain fair, orderly, and efficient markets, and facilitate capital formation. Explore different occupations by searching here on the Standard Industrial Classification codes (SICs). For example: search on 7380 (Business Services); 7381 (Detectives and Guards); 7389 (Business Services). This is one way of finding out how to develop a protection plan, which is by seeing who is in the business and what they say they are doing in their business practice.