LibGuides: Henley-Putnam's Intelligence Management Subject Guide: Historical Maps

Historical Maps

Atlas Classica Maps A digital collection of maps of the Classical World published in 1834.
Atlas of Historical County Boundaries Resource for people seeking records of past events, and people trying to analyze, interpret and display county-based historical data like returns of elections and censuses, and for people working on state and local history projects. The special interests of those potential users range from history to demography, economics, genealogy, geography, law, and politics.
Central Pacific Railroad Photographic History Museum Family website that has been expanded with the help of people with similar interests who have submitted scans of railroad images and copies of 19th century articles and maps from their collections. For permissions to use the maps and other images please contact the museum.
David Rumsey Map Collection Contains more than 150,000 maps focused on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, wall maps, globes, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children’s, and manuscript maps.
Inter-war 20th Century Engineering Map Published in Engineering and Mining Journal.
Internet Archive Book Images: Map Room The Internet Archive query page for “maps.” The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form.
Library of Congress: Map Collections Focused on Americana and Cartographic Treasures, including cartographic maps and towns and cities, military battles and campaigns, and railroad maps.
National Map’s Historical Topographic Map Collection TopoView allows access to the more than 178,000 maps in the USGS’s Historical Topographic Map Collection (HTMC). The HTMC is a digital repository of USGS 1:250,000 scale and larger maps printed between 1884 and 2006.
Stuckenberg Map Collection The Stuckenberg Map Collection at Gettysburg College consists of three 17th century atlases and over 500 map sheets from the 16th through the 19th century.
US Geological Survey Homepage of the USGS which proves reliable scientific information to describe and understand the Earth. Also access USGS water resources maps and GIS data, the Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center Image Gallery and USGS Earth Explorer.