This Subject Guide will help students locate the fundamental documents that grant and govern the intelligence activities of the United States Intelligence Community (USIC).
Air UniversityAir University (AU) provides the full spectrum of Air Force education, from pre-commissioning to the highest levels of professional military education, including degree granting and professional continuing education for officers, enlisted and civilian personnel throughout their careers. AU is headquartered at Maxwell Air Force Base, AL and is a key component of Air Education and Training Command. It is the Air Force’s center for professional military education.
Bruce C. Clarke Library Digital RepositoryThe Bruce C. Clarke Library Digital Repository was created to preserve rare and historic materials from the library's collection. These digital resources include selected material from the library's Rare Book collection as well as other literature documenting the history of Fort Leonard Wood. All publications, including "The Guidon", Fort Leonard Wood's weekly publication since 1966, are freely available to Military members, their families and the public. The goal of this collection is to allow access to items considered too fragile for normal use and to provide users access to information on the history of Fort Leonard Wood.
Center for Homeland Defense and SecurityFocused on assisting current and emerging leaders in homeland defense and security to develop the policies, strategies, programs and organizational elements needed to defeat terrorism and prepare for and respond to natural disasters and public safety threats across the United States. The programs are developed in partnership with and are sponsored by the National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA.
Center for Naval AnalysesCNA's objective, empirical research and analysis helps decision makers develop sound policies, make better-informed decisions, and manage programs more effectively. Their work, which in its early decades focused solely on defense-related matters, has grown to include investigation and analysis of a broad range of national security, defense, and public interest issues including emergency management, homeland security and air traffic management. Through our Center for Naval Analyses and Institute for Public Research, they provide public-sector organizations with the tools they need to tackle the complex challenges of making government more efficient and keeping our country safe and strong.
Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)Access the CREST: 25-Year Program Archive to search the rolling archive (25 years or older) of CIA documents declassified and loaded on CREST. Some PDFs available. Searchable titles may be the formal title of a report or the subject of a memorandum or indexed by document type, originator or location, in the absence of a clear formal title (eg letters, cables, written notes)
Combating Terrorism Center at West Point – Harmony Program Documents ArchiveThe focus of this program is to contextualize the inner-functioning of al-Qa’ida, its associated movement, and other security threats through primary source documents. Harmony products released by the CTC are typically accompanied by an analytical report and the primary source material from which its conclusions are based.
Council on Foreign RelationsAn independent and nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher. Access foreign policy documents by region, topic and report type. Access one free article from Foreign Affairs journal per month or access full-text archive in the library through CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online (accessible via “Find Journal Articles” in the Intelligence Management LibGuide).
Director of National IntelligenceThe core mission of the Office of the Director of National Intelligence (ODNI) is to lead the Intelligence Community (IC) in intelligence integration, forging a community that delivers the most insightful intelligence possible. ODNI’s National Centers integrate and coordinate the activities of the entire IC, or in some cases, broader U.S. Government in the IC’s major mission areas: counterterrorism, cybersecurity, counterproliferation and counterintelligence.
The East-West CenterThe East-West Center promotes better relations and understanding among the people and nations of the United States, Asia, and the Pacific through cooperative study, research, and dialogue.
Established by the US Congress in 1960, the Center serves as a resource for information and analysis on critical issues of common concern, bringing people together to exchange views, build expertise, and develop policy options. The Center is an independent, public, nonprofit organization with funding from the US government, and additional support provided by private agencies, individuals, foundations, corporations, and governments in the region.
Federation of American ScientistsProvides science-based analysis of and solutions to protect against catastrophic threats to national and international security. Specifically, FAS works to reduce the spread and number of nuclear weapons, prevent nuclear and radiological terrorism, promote high standards for nuclear energy’s safety and security, illuminate government secrecy practices, as well as prevent the use of biological and chemical weapons.
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)The Freedom of Information Act, or FOIA (5 U.S.C. 552, as amended), generally provides any person with the statutory right, enforceable in court, to obtain access to Government information in executive branch agency records. This right to access is limited when such information is protected from disclosure by one of FOIA's nine statutory exemptions.
Global Terrorism DatabaseAn open-source database managed by START: National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism, A Center of Excellence of the U. S. Department of Homeland Security based at the University of Maryland. Includes information on both domestic and international terrorist events from 1970 through 2016 (with annual updates thereafter).
Homeland Security Digital LibraryThe Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
International Monetary FundThe World Economic Outlook (WEO) database contains selected macroeconomic data series from the statistical appendix of the World Economic Outlook report, which presents the International Monetary Fund (IMF) staff’s analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups and in many individual countries. The WEO is released in April and September/October each year.
Internet ArchiveNon-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, “the wayback machine” and more. The collection is comprehensive and international.
National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)Archives selected legal and historical documents and materials from the US Federal Government. NARA also processes FOIA requests and the Director of Information Security Oversight Office (ISOO) serves as the Executive Secretary of the Interagency Security Classification Appeals Panel (ISCAP). ISCAP provides further review of classification decisions.
National Intelligence PressSupported by the National Intelligence University, the National Intelligence Press publishes freely accessible books for the intelligence community. Books are available for download.
National Security Agency/Central Security Service (NSA/CSS)Leads the U.S. Government in cryptology that encompasses both Signals Intelligence (SIGINT) and Information Assurance (IA) products and services, and enables Computer Network Operations (CNO) in order to gain a decision advantage for the Nation and our allies under all circumstances. The CSS promotes full partnership between the NSA and the cryptologic elements of the Armed Forces to ensure military integration.
Open Source Enterprise (Requests CAC)Provides access to the latest open source reporting and analysis. Accounts are available to US federal, state, and local government employees and contractors.
Presidential Laws and Regulations,The Acts of Congress, Executive Orders, and guidance materials linked on this page govern the Presidential Libraries and the access and use of their materials.
RAND CorporationThe RAND Corporation is a research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous. RAND is nonprofit, nonpartisan, and committed to the public interest.
Strategic Studies InstituteThe Strategic Studies Institute (SSI) is the U.S. Army’s institute for geostrategic and national security research and analysis. SSI conducts global geostrategic research and analysis that creates and advances knowledge to influence solutions for national security problems facing the Army and the nation. SSI serves as a valuable source of ideas, criticism, innovative approaches, and independent analyses as well as a venue to expose external audiences to the U.S. Army’s contributions to the Nation.
UNDataA global database of FREE social, economic, cultural, and security-related data aimed at allowing the global user community to access statistical resources of the UN System. Provides access to over 60 million data points.
USA.govOfficial portal for the US government. Includes available websites that are government-owned or government sponsored, unless prohibited by the owning agency.
US Department of Defense – Update to Law of War ManualThe Law of War Manual (December 2016 ed.) is a guide for Department of Defense personnel responsible for implementing the law of war and executing military operations. This is the second update to the manual since DoD first released it in June 2015.
U.S. Senate Select Committee on IntelligenceThis page provides access to reports and other publications from The US Senate Select Committee on Intelligence. The Committee was created by the Senate in 1976 to “oversee and make continuing studies of the intelligence activities and programs of the United States Government,” to “submit…proposals,” “report…concerning such intelligence activities and programs,” and to “provide…oversight.”
Tech Support
Having technical problems such as:
logging in or need a password reset?
Bookstore issues?
can't get into D2L or help navigating D2L?
Get help by calling 1-800-548-0602 or go to support.national.edu.
