Skip to Main Content 
Maps and Satellite Images
Digital National Security Archive
A good source of images on topics such as: CIA covert operations, the Cuban missile crisis, the Iran-Contra Affair, Iraqgate, Japan and the U.S., Peru, the Philippines, South Africa, Nicaragua, Soviet Union, China, U.S. Nuclear History.
International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center
Contains an image collection, including maps and satellite images specific to militant organizations.
ESRI
International supplier of geographic information system (GIS) software, web GIS and geodatabase management applications. Content includes ERSI Disaster Response program maps, thematic atlases, and ARCGis Story Maps on a variety of topics. Story Maps allow you to combine authoritative maps with narrative text, images, and multimedia content.
Perry Castaneda Library Map Collection
This page is a directory to the 20% of the Perry-Castañeda Library (PCL) Map Collection of more than 250,000 maps that are online in this ongoing digitization project (University of Texas at Austin).
Syria-Aleppo map
Syria-Aleppo Situation map (April 2016), from BBC
US Geological Survey
The United States Geological Survey (USGS) provides science about natural hazards, water, energy, minerals, and other natural resources, the health of ecosystems and environments, and the impacts of climate and land-use change. USGS scientists develop new methods and tools to supply timely, relevant, and useful information about the Earth and its processes.
EarthExplorer (USGS)
EarthExplorer provides access to one of the largest civilian remote sensing data archives. It contains a comprehensive record of the Earth’s changing land surface to conduct research on changes that affect our environment, resources, health, and safety. Time series images are a valuable resource for scientists, disaster managers, engineers, educators, and the general public.
FEMA Flood Map Service Center
Use the FEMA Flood Map Service Center (MSC) to find your official flood map, access a range of other flood hazard products, and take advantage of tools for better understanding flood risk. The MSC is the official public source for flood hazard information produced in support of the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).
Library of Congress: Map Collections
Focused on Americana and Cartographic Treasures, including cartographic maps and towns and cities, military battles and campaigns, and railroad maps.
Library of Congress, Geography and Maps Division: Contemporary Maps
Includes maps that typically portray the physical environment and a variety of cultural elements for a geographic area at a particular point in time. The maps in this category show a geographic area larger than a city or town and do not display a subject that is part of one of the LOC thematic categories (e.g. Civil War Maps).
Libya-Situation Maps
From Libya Security Monitor, a one-stop source for reporting on the Libyan Civil War and the security situation in the country (published on the “Medium.com” platform).
Atlas Classica Maps
A digital collection of maps of the Classical World published in 1834.
Global site tag:
