LibGuides: Writing Center: Drafting

First Steps

When you know what your topic is and have outlined the ideas that you think you want to discuss in your paper, it’s time to start writing! Many students find that the hardest part of the drafting process is simply getting started. If you can, find a comfortable place to write where you can work without interruption or distractions. A library, coffee shop, your couch – anywhere where you can focus. And don’t forget that you don’t always have to work in a linear fashion on your paper. You might find it easier to write the body of your paper before writing the introduction. The important thing is to get started!

Excelsior OWL Thesis Statement Resources
Includes Parts of a Thesis Statement, Thesis Angles, Common Problems, Thesis Creation, and Thesis Checklist
Thesis and Purpose Statements
From The Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison
Developing a Thesis Statement
How to develop a thesis statement, by the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Writing Center's Writer's Handbook

Developing a Thesis Statement
A thesis statement tells your readers the main idea of your paper. This handout gives you information about how to compose a clear and concise thesis.

Thesis Statement Tips
Tips and examples for writing thesis statements from the Purdue Owl.

Introductions and Conclusions
From Excelsior OWL
Learning Express Tutorial: Build Your Basic Writing Skills - Unit 2: Drafting. Lesson 2 :Writing Introductions
Register and log in Learning Express to access this resource. (See the Register/Log in link below in the left column.) Click on the link to the tutorial and then Unit 2: Drafting. Lesson 2 :Writing Introductions .You may stop the tutorial and finish later.
Learning Express Tutorial: Build Your Basic Writing Skills - Unit 2: Drafting. Lesson 4: Writing Conclusions
Register and log in to Learning Express to access this resource. (See the Register/Log in link below in the left column.) Click on the link to the tutorial and then Unit 2: Drafting, Lesson 4: Writing Conclusions.You may stop the tutorial and finish later.

Topic Sentences
From Excelsior Owl - Learn how to create topic sentences from your main thesis statement.

How to Integrate Sources into Your Paper (University of Illinois)
"Integrating" a source means you use someone else's information to support your ideas.
Drafting and Integrating (Sources)
From Excelsior OWL: Learn how to support the points you are making in your essay or paper by summarizing main ideas, paraphrasing supporting materials, and quoting specific text.
Summarizing, Paraphrasing, and Quoting: A Guide to Doing It Right
YouTube video from Genessee Library (14 m, 12 s).
How to Include a Quotation in Your Paper
From Excelsior OWL, this short "Signal Phrases Activity" will demonstrate how to integrate a quotation into the text of your paper.
Quillbot
Quillbot is an AI writing and editing tool. It will paraphrase, summarize, and check grammar for free.

Paragraphing: MEAL Plan
From Excelsior OWL: Use the MEAL Plan to structure your paragraphs: Main Idea, Evidence, Analysis, Lead Out
Paragraphing
From Purdue OWL - Rules of thumb to use when paragraphing.
Paragraphing and Transitioning
Learn when to start a new paragraph and how to link paragraphs
Improve Your Paper By Writing Structured Paragraphs
How to write structured paragraphs from the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Writing Center's Writer's Handbook. Includes sample paragraphs.
How to Write an Effective 5-Paragraph Essay
Here are simple formulas to write the 5-basic academic essay, a standard way to write most essays. This video tutorial was created by educator David Taylor.

Quick Grammar and Spelling Tips
This document gives tips on spelling, punctuation, and many other common grammatical errors.

Grammar Girl
Grammar Girl provides short, friendly tips to improve your writing. Mignon Fogarty is the creator and host of Grammar Girl.
Grammar Resources
Grammar help from the Purdue Owl. Scroll and use the links on the left to see more advice.
Parts of Speech in Review
This Excelsior Online Writing Lab video provides a basic overview of the parts of speech.
*Used pursuant to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
Sentence Fragments by Shmoop
Watch this video to find out whether you've written a complete sentence or complete nonsense!
Run-on Sentences
From Excelsior OWL
Run-on Sentences from Shmoop
Watch this video to learn how easy it is to fix run-on sentences.
Coordinating Conjunctions
From GrammarSongs by Melissa
Parallel Structure or Parallelism
This video from Smrt English explains what parallel structure is, why it is important, and how to correct errors in parallel sentence structure.
First, Second, and Third Person Points of View
This Grammarly blog post explains the difference between writing in first, second, and third person.

APA Style Brief Guide to Bias-Free and Inclusive Language
This Guide includes the general principles for avoiding bias in language and cultivating an inclusive mindset.

Brief Overview of Punctuation
This webpage from Purdue OWL sets out when and how to use commas, sermi-colons, parenthesis, a dash, quotation marks, and italics.
Grammar and Punctuation
Grammar and punctuation tools from the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Writing Center's Writer's Handbook.
A Little Help With Capitals
Purdue OWL lists guidelines for using capital letters.
Abbreviations
Purdue OWL sets out the rules for using abbreviations when writing and citing using APA 7th edition, including how to form the plural of abbreviations.
How to Use Apostrophes
The Grammar Guys cover all the ways you should, and should not, use apostrophes.
Apostrophe Trick Video
"Get your apostrophe in the right place every time." (6 m, 26 s)
Numbers and Statistics
Purdue Owl sets out the rules for using numbers and statistics when writing and citing using APA 7th edition, including how to form the plural of numbers.

Excelsior Online Writing Lab (Excelsior OWL)
This handbook is an easy-to-navigate source for college reading, research, writing, and citation help!
*Used pursuant to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Writing Center

How To Register/Login to Learning Express

First Steps