Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Library
NAU Logo

APA Formatting and Style (7th ed.) for Student Papers

NAU Guide to APA

Reference Page Examples - Books and Reference Works

Note:
  • If the book includes a DOI, include the DOI in the reference after the publisher's name. (DOI's may be found on the book's copyright page.)
  • Present DOIs as hyperlinks (ie.. beginning with http:// or https://) ex.: http://doi.org/10.1007/s10551-012-1332-4  
  • If an eBook has a stable URL that will resolve (provide access) to a reader, include the URL of the book in the reference after the publisher's name. 
  • If an eBook has no DOI or stable URL, end the reference after the publisher's name.

Pattern:
Author, A. A.,& Author, B. B. (year). Title of book. Publisher.
Example:
Wiehl, L. & Pulitzer, L. (2020) Hunting the unabomber: The FBI, Ted Kaczynski and the capture of the America's most
notorious domestic terrorist. Nelson Books.

*** Remember: Each source listed on the reference page must correspond to at least one in-text citation in the body of the paper; each in-text citation must correspond to a source listed on the reference page.

Note:

  • If the book includes a DOI, include the DOI in the reference after the publisher name. 
  • Present DOIs  as hyperlinks (ie.. beginning with http:// or https://) ex.: http://10.1007/s10551-012-1332-4  
  • If an eBook has a stable URL that will resolve (provide access) to a reader, include the URL of the book in the reference after the publisher's name. 
  • If an eBook has no DOI or stable URL, end the reference after the publisher's name.

Pattern:
Editor, A. A.,& Editor, B. B. (Eds.). (year). Title of book. Publisher.
Example:
Janoski, T., Alford, R., Hicks, A., & Schwartz, M. A. (Eds.). (2005). The handbook of political sociology: States, civil 
societies, and globalization. Cambridge University Press. 
*** Remember: Each source listed on the reference page must correspond to at least one in-text citation in the body of the paper; each in-text citation must correspond to a source listed on the reference page.

Note:

  • If the book includes a DOI, include the DOI in the reference after the publisher name. 

  • Present DOIs  as hyperlinks (ie.. beginning with http:// or https://) ex.: http://10.1007/s10551-012-1332-4  

  • If an eBook has a stable URL that will resolve (provide access) to a reader, include the URL of the book in the reference after the publisher's name. 
  • If an eBook has no DOI or stable URL, end the reference after the publisher's name.
Pattern:
Author, A. A.,& Author, B. B. (year). Title of book (2nd ed.). Publisher.
Example:
Feldman, R. (2012). Psychology and your life (2nd ed.). McGraw-Hill. 
*** Remember: Each source listed on the reference page must correspond to at least one in-text citation in the body of the paper; each in-text citation must correspond to a source listed on the reference page.
Pattern:
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (year). Title of book. Publisher. 
Example:
Karlgaard, R. (2014). Soft edge: Where great companies find lasting success. John Wiley & Sons. 

 

** If a book or a chapter in an edited book is from a database, do not include the database name or the URL from the database. End the citation with the name of the publisher. 
*** Remember: Each source listed on the reference page must correspond to at least one in-text citation in the body of the paper; each in-text citation must correspond to a source listed on the reference page.
Note:
  • If the book includes a DOI, include the DOI in the reference after the publisher's name. (DOI's may be found on the book's copyright page.)
  • Present DOIs as hyperlinks (ie.. beginning with http:// or https://) ex.: http://doi.org/10.1007/s10551-012-1332-4  
  • If an eBook has a stable URL that will resolve (provide access) to a reader, include the URL of the book in the reference after the publisher's name. 
  • If an eBook has no DOI or stable URL, end the reference after the publisher's name.

Pattern:

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (year). Title of chapter. In  E. E. Editor (Ed.) Title of book (pp. xx-xx).  Publisher.

Example: 

Hahna, N. (2017). Reflecting on personal bias. In A. Whitehead-Pleaux & x. Tan (Eds.), Cultural intersections in music therapy :

Music, health, and the person. Barcelona Publishers. 

 

Global site tag: